How to survive being divorced in Chile

Just another WordPress.com weblog

How I met my ex husband – Versión Inglés April 21, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — ale1973 @ 2:20 am

Dear internet friends:Everything started, when I thought I was in love… at the age of 22!!!…. I thought I knew everything, that I had experience, that I’d seen enough to fall in love and get married… no comments…

I met a Cuban at the company I worked for here in
Chile, the headquarters of that huge company was in
Miami. This Cuban was supposed to stay in
Chile for three months while he was teaching a Chilean the job he did in
Miami. It wasn´t love at first sight, I can tell, I found him very unpleasant and rude (Jesus, there were so many signs…), besides he was a little bit chubby. That was January, 1996, (looks like a whole century now). During all January, he went to my desk to talk to me, he talked about how beautiful
Miami was, that he hated
Chile and I hated him for saying that, and also about a girl she dated back there.

A boss we both had from
New Zealand, asked me to take him, with the Cuban of course, and a Dominican to
Viña del Mar, so we went. After approximately three liters of beers that three of them had, the Cuban asked me out of a date for the following weekend, I accepted… no comments… Should I sue my ex boss now?… guess not.

On January 27th, 1996, we went to have dinner, then to a club named “heaven” (wrong sign that one). Our first kiss was with the song “kiss” Prince version (that song used to like me a lot before, but now I have mixed feelings when I listed to it, I don´t know whether to sing and dance or cry at the same time). But one thing I do know, for better or worst, that song always reminds me of him…

When he dropped me off home, we kissed and looking into my eyes he said something I’d never heard to come out of a man’s mouth before… “Tell me if this is a one night thing, if it’s so, I’ll let you go, but if It’s not, This will be for ever”… romantic, isn’t it? In that moment, I never thought that “for ever” would be like it’s nowadays. Obviously, I was wordless, caught my breath and with my best conquering smile I said: “Let things flow, we have plenty of time” or something like that. In that situation I felt like I was the man, trying to give “her” a Tylenol to ease the pain J.

But from that moment, we became inseparables, in fact, after two weeks after our first kiss with the kiss song, we decided to get married… I know, I know…

On April 4th, 1996, at 9:00am, we got married. His mom came all way from
Miami to the wedding. In the middle of that, I found out I was pregnant. The Cuban wanted her daughter to born as an American citizen and I thinking objectively, agreed, and in the middle of September we flew to
Miami to have my child.

NOW EVERYTHING I WENT THROUGH WHILE I STAYED IN
MIAMI, THAT’S ANOTHER STORY TO TELL, YOU’LL ENJOY IT AND YOU’LL BE MOVED, IN A

SORT OF WAY

 

One Response to “How I met my ex husband – Versión Inglés”

  1. japenny Says:

    INTERESTING..HMM…VERY INTERESTING. I HAVE ALSO COUNTED THE AMOUNT OF TIMES U SAID “NO COMMENTS” AND THAT U KNOW/KNEW…..AND THAT THERE WAS SIGNS. MY OPINION IS WE HAVE TO HAVE EXPERIENCES IN LIFE, AND THAT WAS JUST ONE OF YOURS, WHAT U DO WITH THEM IS THE REAL CONCERN, SOMETHING POSITIVE IS USALLY THE OBVIOUS CHOICE, OR ELSE IT DEFEAT THE WHOLE PURPOSE OF HAVING THEM.

    WHEN U R HURTING U NEVER NORMALLY SEE THE “WINDOW OF OPPORTUNITY” FROM OUR SITUATION, BUT ITS THERE. IT IS OBVIOUS THAT HE IS NOT COMPLEMENTIVE OF WHO U ARE AS A PERSON. DO NOT SPEND YOUR TIME FEELING SORRY U HAVE MET HIM,(OR WANTING TO SUE UR BOSS…LOL)YOUR KIDS ARE BLESSINGS, SPEND YOUR TIME BEING GRATEFUL FOR THEM, AND THINKING HOW U CAN MOVE ON WITH YOUR LIFE AND BECOME A BETTER PERSON.

    INTIME I THINK HE WILL REALISE AND APPRECIATE WHO U ARE AND TREAT U ACCORDINGLY AS A PERSON AND ALSO THE MOTHER OF HIS CHILDREN. LOWERING YOURSELF TO ANY DEGRADING BEHAVIOUR, WILL ONLY BE DISAPPOINTING TO U AND KIDS AND ALSO GIVE HIM THE CONFIRMATION OF POWER OVER U.

    TELL URSELF U R A BEAUTIFUL WOMAN WITH WONDERFUL DREAMS AND AMBITIONS AND ONLY U CAN DEPRIVE U OF THAT.

    CUIDATE MUCHO!
    JAPENNY


Leave a Reply

